Local & Lovely

Dear Heavenly Father,

Lord thank you for the bright shining sun that graced my morning drive today. Lord I thank you for other believers. For other followers that love you and constantly direct others back to you, glorifying Your name. Lord I ask for blessings over Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering and Branches of Green. I ask that you guide these women and constantly show them your grace and love. I pray for success over their businesses which constantly glorify you not only with their products but with the way they treat others with kindness.

In Jesus name, Amen.


One of my favorite things to do on the weekend is to visit a few local shops that I love. An hour or two away from my crazy mom schedule and you will find me with coffee in hand wandering the rows of antiques in my favorite antique store or carefully examining a new pair of earrings in one of the many little boutiques I love in town. No Newark, Ohio isn’t setting the world on fire with new trend setting stores but what we do have is pretty awesome.

One of my favorite places to check out on the weekends when they hold open houses is Branches of Green. It is owned by two talented sisters and their hip mom! These three have an eye for design and an uncanny ability to see life in a piece or furniture or decor that others may view as old, out dated or trash. Hey, I know a guy who is also able to give life to what is old, out dated and thought to be trash. Ok enough of my shameless Jesus plugs, what is this a blog about Jesus or something!?

Branches of Green describes themselves as “2 generations of love for all things decorating. From planning your special events with us, to home staging and interior design.” But one of my favorite things about Branches of Green is their love for Jesus! You may have missed it but if you study their name it’s all right there. You see Jesus says in John 15.5 that, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. (NIV, John 15.5)” The Green girls love the Lord and know that by abiding in the Father they will bear much fruit in all things.

So when Branches of Green advertised their Christmas open house I couldn’t wait to go. For this special open house they teamed up with Jenn Salyer who is the owner and artist behind Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering! I couldn’t wait to see what Jenn was going to showcase at the Branches of Green shop. Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering is another lovey, locally owned business. Their speciality is in hand lettering. Jenn will letter almost anything in her signature style but my favorite items are her t-shirts with meaningful bible scripture. Her lettering is so beautiful even Country Living noticed and she was a part of the Country Living Fair in Columbus this past fall. And if that wasn’t already the coolest thing ever she also designed a shirt for the Nothing to Prove book tour stop at College Hill Presbyterian Church in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Jenn not only has a unquie talent but also a bold faith that comes through on her home decor deigns, t-shirts, coffee mugs and journals. She also shares her thoughts and musings on her blog which you can find on her website Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering.

Processed with Rookie Cam

Tasha, owner of Branches of Green, in a Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering tank (2016. Newark, Ohio. http://www.cobblestoneroadlettering.com. Web. 4 Mar. 2017. .)

Luckily that night she had the shirt I had my eye on for some time. Tasha, co-owner of Branches of Green, wore the “She dresses herself with strength Proverbs 31:25” tank to baseball one night (we are fellow baseball moms) and I immediatly knew I had to get my hands on one. Not only did I snag a coveted tank but a hand lettered ornament by Jenn and a few of Branches of Green’s cool pieces. Shopping success!

I love trendy clothes, shoes, accessories and jewelry like any girl but this t-shirt reminds me that no matter how on point my outfit might be that my faith in Jesus Christ is what matters most. I am clothed in His strength and I have nothing to fear, for not even death can separate me from God’s love! Isaiah 61:10 says, “I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.”

You see when we except the gift of salvation that Jesus Christ paid for on the cross we are invited to throw off our rags and clothe ourselves in a royal robe. We are adopted into the kingdom and are called sons and daughters of God. I don’t know about you but I’ll take the major upgrade on eternity, the basement shoveling coal to stoke the fires of hell or a feast fit for royalty. I know my pick!

So thank you Jenn Salyer and Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering for this adorable and uber soft reminder of who I am and who I belong to! And thank you to Tasha and Branches of Green for living out your faith as women and business owners!

Challenge: Click the links to both of these lovely local businesses and check out what’s up and coming!

Do you know of a company that is bold in their faith as well as their talent? If so please share so I can share with others!

Check out Cobble Stone Road Hand Lettering for their new t-shirt design (I pre-ordered mind ready … ELBOW patches, need I say more?) and a cool giveaway … I am late on publishing this and it ends Sunday March 5 so get on the site and find out how to enter!

* No one paid me to write how cool these ladies are, they just are! Hope you all don’t mind being featured on my blog! I feel very fancy saying this but … this was not a paid advertisement.

Leave a Reply

